About Us

Welcome to Big Boss Battle, or if you’d rather, B3.

B3 was launched back in May 2016 with the plan of building a place where games of all shapes and sizes could be celebrated. With over a decade of writing about games between the founders, and each in possession of a lifetime of gaming, they were confident they could achieve this goal. Soon others flocked to the banners. Even though the faces have changed, the goals remain the same.

Our goal is to create a middle-ground within the gulf of grassroots and success-story among both the writing and development side of the industry. With our articles delivering both feedback and respect for the development process. We believe in being fair and respectful in our articles and we always aim to focus on the mechanics and ideas behind the game as much as the more visual and audible components.

We’re also dedicated to creating a place where we can train up and mentor those who would otherwise not be confident enough to start a written career in the industry. Maybe you could join us on this journey.

We hope you enjoy your time at B3 — if you like talking about games then we’d love to get to know you.

Our Contributors


Dann Sullivan

Dann’s earliest memory is playing Adventure on the Atari 2600, since then he’s enjoyed games of all sorts and shapes. Dann is B3's EiC and one of the co-owners.

View all posts

Matthew Smail

Matt is B3's resident Head of Board Games. As a life-long fan of all things gaming he'll also occasionally be found covering video games with the team, or bringing a nice mix of topics to the podcast.

View all posts

Jupiter Hadley

Jupiter Hadley is a indie game enthusiast who specializes in Game Jams. She records thousands of games a year on her YouTube channel and writes for various websites online. If you wish to contact Jupiter, you can find her on twitter…

View all posts


Louis Sullivan

Louis has yet to create a bio on bigbossbattle.com

View all posts

Rob Covell

Rob is a teacher, a father, a husband and a gamer. He's been the latter for longer than the former 3 combined. Probably. He likes pretty much every genre, but puzzle platformers tend to upset his brain.

View all posts

Brian Gillett-Smith

Brian has been playing games for the last 25 years - yes, he's that old. When he's not gaming, Brian cycles, works, drinks coffee and sleeps... well, maybe not so much of that last one...

View all posts

Toby Roundhill

Toby first discovered video games when his father bought him Civilisation 4. Ever since then he has had an affinity for strategy games and anything that involves space. He describes himself as a nerd, writer and a millennial. He would like…

View all posts

Derek C. Miller

"Experienced" gamer who's only looking for some fun. Likes: Just about everything. Dislikes: Anything Zombie related. Swipe right, you know you want to.

View all posts

Jack Young

Jack is a writer with a love for running, reading, growing plants and above all else – gaming and writing! A lifelong gamer with a passion for management and turn-based tactical games. Just one more turn.

View all posts

Katherine Franklin

Katherine works with a strange combination of literature and software, so it makes sense that she goes crazy for games with good narrative design in her spare time. Among her favourite games are The Last of Us (the only console game she's…

View all posts


Being older, I started with board games. Those led to early Amiga, Mac, and Win 3.1 gaming. I've been hooked on computer gaming since there's been computer gaming. I prefer strategy (4X, war, and space) and also enjoy survival games, but I…

View all posts

Claire Lickman

Claire is an avid fan of RPGs & MMOs, normally found wandering around exotic locations and alien worlds.

View all posts

Terry Jeffryes

A grumpy old git with a taste for all things retro, and will be behind Nintendo till the day he dies. 5% Human, 95% Hair, all Gamer.

View all posts


Matt has yet to create a bio on bigbossbattle.com

View all posts

Lennart Bachmann

Lennart's forte is real-time strategy, but his love for games extends to other genres as well. When he's not playing games, he hikes, makes pancakes, or tries to save the world. Online, he is also known as TaxOwlbear.

View all posts

David Bosquez

David T. Bosquez is a writer, game designer and developer, U.S. Army Veteran, father, and husband. He is also an avid gamer of various genres and formats, of both tabletop and video games. He currently lives in London, KY with his wife and…

View all posts

Bryan Taylor

Bryan has a passion for writing and has been gaming since the 80s. Favorite games: Super Metroid, Chrono Trigger, and Rez (Not necessarily in that order).

View all posts

Jess Erion

Jess has yet to create a bio on bigbossbattle.com

View all posts

Matt Bauer

Matt is a freelance developer and consultant about all things web. He used to be CTO of an online marketing agency in Austria but followed his passion to London to work full-time in video games.

View all posts

Jon Biegalski

A non-binary ludomancy witch and a games consultant at a technical university. Loves playing and creating indie games. Also enjoys wrestling, RPGs and KeyForge. They/Them.
Favourite game of the year: Sayonara Wild Hearts

View all posts

Sara Yee

Language lover and dragon enthusiast with an interest in all things indie gaming. Resides in Malaysia.

View all posts

Sam Machell

Sam has yet to create a bio on bigbossbattle.com

View all posts

Alex Willa

Alex has yet to create a bio on bigbossbattle.com

View all posts


Chelly has yet to create a bio on bigbossbattle.com

View all posts

JD Saltz

JD Saltz lives in a small German street shaped like an egg. He enjoys playing and writing about all kinds of computer games, no matter how big or small.

View all posts

Tom Power

Tom has yet to create a bio on bigbossbattle.com

View all posts


Ryan has yet to create a bio on bigbossbattle.com

View all posts

Timothy Grant

Timothy Grant is a writer living in San Francisco. He loves video games, folk music, and craft beer - preferably all at the same time.

View all posts


Max is a part-time reviewer, part-time podcaster, part-time gamer and full-time jabroni.

View all posts

Emil Nordström

Swedish nerd, content manager and general awesomeness incarnated!

View all posts

Elisa Napolitano

23-year-old geeky writer from Italy.
I like to focus on the local panorama to spread the word about it.

View all posts

John Mulcahey

John is a non-binary game design grad who loves all things spooky, nintendo based, music-y and film-y.

View all posts


Can often be found dangling bits of string in front of cats, collecting Nintendo games, rolling polyhedral dice, and drinking strong coffee.
He's on Twitter: @SiyoanOnline

View all posts

Matt Fuller

Matt has been playing games since he can remember. Since a young age, he's played anything he can get his hands on no matter the platform or genre. RPGs to action, adventure to fighting, no matter the game, he's probably got it or will soon…

View all posts


Geoff Bridges (2016)
Daniel O Reilly
Marc Hemming (2016)
Alex Bithray (2016)
Ingo Lyle-Goodwin (2016)
Pete Taylor (2016)
Craig Fordham (2016 – 2017)
Ben Bayliss (2016 – 2017)
James White (2017)
Josh Robertson (2016 – 2017)
Omar Bousfanj (2017)
Kate England-Moore (2016 – 2017)
Stefan Eady (2016 – 2018)
Shaun Wall (2017 – 2018)
Maggie Wall (2017 – 2018)
Rob MIddleton (2018)
Lara Keilbart (2018)
Jack Clifford (2017 – 2018)
Laura Fagan (2018)
Ruune (2018 – 2019)
Alyse Stanley (2018 – 2019)


Larissa Duncan (2017)
Jorge Sobrino (2016 – 2018)
Erica Sobrino (2017 – 2018)